A Machine’s Dream…

A Machine's Dream... Picture taken at Quite Oh's first exhibition  (as contributor)

A Machine's Dream... Picture taken at Quite Oh's first exhibition (as contributor)

Hey! Come see an exhibition! A Machine’s Dream… An organic steampunk ecosystem in a giant hat, invoking a sense of mysticism, of a lost world where machines and organic life became one. See Quite Oh has been up to for the last 14 days! Free presents too. Only open until Sept 30, 2009. http://slurl.com/secondlife/IBM%202/127/188/76

About this build. First, it was started and initiated by Spiral Walsher, who then invited a number of us to participate. Contributing were

Spiral Walcher
Quite Oh
Andrek Lowell
Jopsy Pendragon
Sleeves Rhode
Deson Bowenford
Darlingmonster Ember
Tormented Twilight
Janet Rossini
Jenrose Meredith

This was the first time I had basically no limit on the prims I could use, and boy did I indulge! :) Also, for my part I built all my part in about 13 days straight.

Things I’ve learned:

1) It *will* take longer than you think.
2) Close deadlines and pressure remove the sense of creative joy. It also introduces a myriad amount of tiny little errors that make you look careless. Give yourself as much time as you can.
3) Defined your vision up front, and define what “done” looks like.
4) Finish a few days before the opening so that you can tweak in a leisurly manner.
5) When doing an exhibit, there’s more than just building! There is promotion and gifts and being present to answer questions and so on. In other words, the exhibit is done when it’s done, not when you’ve finished building.
6) Team building is more fun the alone building.
7) No matter how well you planned something, you are usually so close to something that you’ll miss something obvious!
8) It helps to think of your build as one contiguous build with clearly defined paths, stops and highlights rather than a collection of neat things. I worked hard to make things fit together and make sense within the fantasy.
9) A build has to take into consideration that people will walk, fly and cam around it, even if you lay out certain paths.
10) The paths that you predict might not be the path people take. Give them several ways of getting to each highlight.

All in all, I loved working around everyone’s brilliant work, and adapting my own stuff to fit around it. I’ve learned that I can build faster, bigger, more complex and imaginatively than a simple build could ever teach me.

PS: One of the little rushed errors I made was to fail to remove a notecard from the duck after building it’s base. Anybody wanting a notecard-free duck, please re-find it at the build, or IM me for a copy.

Thanks for coming!

3 Comments

  1. August 21, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I visited your”A Machine’s Dream”
    I was impressed very much!! Wonderful!!

    and then I introduced about “A Machine’s Dream”
    with my blog…..:)

    I thanks that you made me Happy.

    *sorry…my english is so poor….I am Japanese…* cu!

    • Quite Oh said,

      August 21, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      Thanks for pointing out the note in the duck. It’s been removed. All who want a note-free duck and either grab it at the build, or IM me for a copy.

  2. Juko said,

    August 30, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    It’s a great build and wonderful to explore – I hope anyone who takes pics will join the IBM Exhibition Space on Flickr and share them!

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/ibmexhibition/


Leave a Reply

