Maybe it’s time to come back home

I logged back on to SL, after what has it been, six months? Feels longer. And I remembered why I enjoyed it so much. I got caught up on some news and it helps me feel a bit more connected. I might be ready to come back soon.

I had not been online for more than a few minutes that Krystal Devonshire had gotten me hooked onto old tasks that I needed to complete. Bad Krystal, bad! :)

I re-read my last post. Harsh. Angry. More specifically, stressed and for other reasons, heart-broken. I won’t go into it.

I wish I had done a better job at NCI than I had. I wish I had taken on less hats. I won’t make excuses or apologies, none are needed. I do regret my tone, however. A big part of what stressed me out was that I spent too much time trying to be Ms. Perfect everything at NCI. All I wanted to do was to save my SL home.

When Carl quit, I’d made the promise that I’d see to it that NCI stayed strong and vibrant. And despite the turmoil, and with Gramma’s help, it was actually doing very well. When Tat came on board I saw that it was in good hands, and left to not only relieve the stress of NCI from my life, but to deal with my important first life. I should have given notice. No doubt about it. I didn’t. Can’t change the past. I was wrong to do it, but over the last year, if I’ve learned anything, some perspective might have been added to the list.

A year later, I come back and NCI is still there. It’s weathered the storm. I might come back, but I still have my life to work on. If I do come back, it won’t be as a public figure, but just as what I’ve always been from the start: a helper.

I miss my friends. I’m deeply concerned about LL’s direction. No more client? Catering to a “social network” rather than encouraging builders? That sounds ominous to me. Builders are the heart of SL, regardless of what statistics may read.

Regardless, NCI is still there, and I bet it could use some help. We’ll see.

3 Comments

  1. Dizzi Sternberg said,

    July 14, 2010 at 12:09 am

    Would be nice to see you back

    • Quite Oh said,

      July 19, 2010 at 1:37 am

      Thanks. I’m kind of caught between two pairs of options. The first is that I’m emberassed at how I behaved while under stress, and it’s sort of hard for me to face my friends again. The second is that I’m afraid that if I come back for any period of time (at this point in my life) that I’ll fall into the habit of logging on for hours every evening. My heart really does have a home in SL and NCI, but I have to keep the momentum going IRL too. I think that once I’ve sort of made peace and found a working balance on both sides that I will. I’m not gone forever.

  2. P3t3 Feller said,

    August 30, 2013 at 1:12 am

    That’s good! I still enjoy your slippers!
    P3t3 Feller


Leave a Reply

